Thursday, August 25, 2022

National Park Service established 106 years ago Today


One hundred and six years ago today, on August 25th, 1916, President Woodrow Wilson signed the Organic Act of 1916. The Organic Act officially established the National Park Service across the Nation as management of National Parks and National Memorials.

There are three National Parks in Dare County on the Outer Banks of North Carolina.

Wright Brothers National Memorial
1000 N Croatan Hwy
Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
(252) 473-2111

Fort Raleigh
National Historic Site 
1401 National Park Dr.
Manteo, NC 27954
(252) 473-2111

Pets are welcome at national parks, but there are rules.

For example, leashes must not exceed six feet in length in all National Parks. In addition, pets are not allowed inside buildings & you must clean up after your pet.

                                                                                       Cape Hatteras National Seashore
                                                                                       (252) 473-2111

National Public Lands Day 2022

Annually the fourth Saturday of September is National Public Lands Day. This year National Public Lands day is  September 24th, 2022 . Natio...